The word of the day

Today’s word of the day is raconteur.  A storyteller.  A person who skillfully can tell a story with with and humor.   I really wish I could be known as a raconteur. 

How did I make this discovery?  By way of the Princess Bride to Kung Fu Panda 2, to Peter Ustinov. 

This morning’s pin roundup included a beautiful picture from Entertainment Weekly’s photoshoot of Buttercup  & Westley 25 years later. There was a link over to EW’s article “Kung Fu Panda 2: Best evil peacock ever?” Of course, I clicked it, even though I haven’t seen this film yet.  It mentioned Gary Oldman voiced the villain, and compared him to other animated iconic baddies such as Jeremy Irons (The Lion King) and Peter Ustinov (Robin Hood). Now I’m really going to have to see this movie.  I knew Jeremy Irons was Scar, but which character was Ustinov?  The sheriff? Sir Hiss?  No!  Prince John!   I’m so glad IMDB.com was invented.

I read a bit of Sir Ustinov’s biography, and played this lovely little gem.  I wasn’t paying too much attention to it – but noticed several familiar faces in the audience.  I’ll have to watch it again, later.

 

Reason for this post?  Testing out embedding video into a blog post, mostly. 

And I really wish there were more raconteurs in the world.  Or at least lovely smart people like Sir Ustinov.

1 thought on “The word of the day

Leave a comment